Posted by: Mad Ness Monster | 07/01/2009

“The Leprechaun’s Christmas Gold” review

(12/17/08)

It has been ages and ages (five years) since the very first Rankin-Bass review I’ve ever done (“The Life and Adventures of Santa Claus“). In that time, I’ve reviewed so many of their obscure Christmas specials. I think… I think I might be at the bottom of their well.
I guess I could review their big name Christmas specials, but since everyone and their mom and their dog has had something funny to say about “Rudolph”, it seems a little pointless. They do have several non-Christmas specials that may be trippy enough to review, so we’re not quite done with Rankin-Bass yet. But this may be the last of their Christmas Specials I do.
And I suppose it was obligatory for me to do the Rankin-Bass Christmas / St. Patrick’s Day special. Because why the hell not combine Christmas and St. Pat’s?
Sliante!

The Best Parts:
2 minutes in – Oh, the fools! When will they stop trying to Seal Evil in a Can?! 😦
3 minutes in – Kid, you’re in a Magical Land. Why so skeptical?
8 minutes in – Oh. I kind of feel bad for the Bain-Sidhe. And according to about a third of the myths about her, you’re supposed to be.
Let it never be said that Irish mythology isn’t the least bit confusing on many points.
9 minutes in – Oh, that sucks.
11 minutes in – Oh, just give her a coin or something! Look at her, she’s cursed to be Emo forever.
12 minutes in – “Well, let’s pop off to the pub then.”
(Uncomfortable pause…)
“Oh, hush! What d’you MEAN this kind of thing bit our Australian cousins in the arse later on?”
14 minutes in – IT’S A TRAP!!!
15 minutes in – “I like shiny objects! Those could cheer me up!”
16 minutes in – Well, this ain’t “Fairy Tale of New York”, but it’ll do.
18 minutes in – “Ah, f***in’ humans!”
19 minutes in – Aw… You know, the mythology of my people is darned cute.
Except for the parts with the wars. And the blood. And the demons. And the demons waging wars against the nicer creatures and making the cute things bleed…
21 minutes in – “Her name is Rio and she dances on the — what’s with the rainbow shoes?”

Things I Learned from this Movie/Book/Whatever:
* – Fairies: stop trapping evil spirits in trees. You are practically asking for some stupid human to come along and cut it down.

Things That Can Save Any Movie:
Cool Creatures?
Squee-worthy Leprechauns.
Good Soundtrack? I still have “Christmas in Killarny” in my head.
Hot Guys? No.
Pretty Scenery? It’s Rankin-Bass.
Nifty Animation/Special Effects/Illustrations? It’s Rankin-Bass.

Drinking Game Potential? Drink when Art Carney gets some snark past Rankin-Bass’ radar.

Head Movie Potential? It’s way too short. BUT, you’ve got rainbows, Fairies, mushrooms…

Rating: Donnie rating (4)
Donnie. It’s very, very cute but very short.
Credits
A Rankin-Bass Film made in 1981 (all these Rankin-Bass movies are way younger that I think). Written by Romeo Muller and directed by Arthur Rankin Jr. and Jules Bass.
Cast
The usual people; Art Carney is the unusual person.
Related Links
IMDB entry

Categories

